Writing 101: Day 17- Mine your own material

A/N: So for writing 101 today we are meant to mine from our social media lives to get an idea for our writing but that doesn’t really speak to me, the alternate option is to talk about a time we’ve left something behind and had to move on so I’m going to go with that.

A couple of years ago I was really committed to this one idea I had for a book but it was during the time I was at university and my writing style was changing a lot. The idea was about a group of teenagers in an apocalyptic world and it focused heavily on their friendship (I don’t want to go into too much detail because you never know when you might revive an old idea). In this world the characters and surroundings were heavily influenced by my friends and as I moved away to university it became harder to write the characters because I was making all these new friends who had such interesting personalities and it was so tempting to just change up the characters.

Eventually I stopped being inspired by the idea, I didn’t have time to work on it and every time I did I was changing things. To begin with I think the idea was actually too broad, the world needed to be compacted and then expanded if it was going to work and at that time I just wasn’t sure how to do that. And so after working on the idea for about three years I gave it up, I’d started it at the end of high school but the person I was when I had started it was completely different to the person I became at university and because I had changed so much so quickly the idea  was no longer feasible.

Looking back now it was a good thing I put the idea down and moved on, maybe one day I’ll write it but for now I’ve got a lot more ideas that are worth giving a shot.

3 thoughts on “Writing 101: Day 17- Mine your own material

Leave a Reply

