Writing 101: Day 18- A map as your muse

A/N: So for today’s writing 101 exercise we are to use a map as our muse, so I’ve decided to use a map of Venice, Italy

Venice.

Now I’ve chosen Venice because it’s a place very close to my heart, when I was sixteen I went there with my mother for a week. It was a birthday gift from my parents and one of the best experiences of my life. So for this post I’m also going to draw on an idea that I was writing when I was in Italy.

It was a dark night and there was a strong wind blowing along the canal. A hooded figure stood on the ponte, looking out at the void as a rolling thunder cloud ventured over the city. The cloud crackled and rumbled and a flash of lightning lit up the night, illuminating the hooded figure to reveal a white, plague doctors mask.

xxx

Pino awoke in water, which was strange because he was also in bed. He arose to find the whole room filled with water. “How can this be?” Their house was two storeys and Pino’s room was on that second floor.

xxx

Leo was excited, this was new and interesting. Of course looking out the window and seeing your city flooded probably shouldn’t be exciting, but Leo loved new things and it was a chance for adventure.

xxx

The figure watched from the ponte as the people of the city floundered with the new development. She chuckled a bit as down the road from San Marco’s Basilica a set of boys paddled through the water on a bed. “I suppose flooding the city wasn’t the smartest idea I’ve ever had.”

-END-

4 thoughts on “Writing 101: Day 18- A map as your muse

Leave a Reply

