Wednesday Prompt Smash: Train Ride to Mars

A/N: It’s that time of the week again, Wednesday prompt smash is a project between my friend Tim and I, you can read more about it on my Projects page. For Tim’s work check out http://wordsmithstories.blogspot.com.au/

Prompt: Train Ride to Mars

Word Limit: 400 words

The Universal Train travelled along the moon dust track, you could just make out the earth as the train powered away from the planet. This was my first trip to Mars, I was both nervous and excited to be going on such an adventure. Nervous because I’d never really been fond of trains on Earth and I wasn’t looking forward to having to travel such a long distance on one, after all Mars is much farther away from Arizona then say Washington. Excited because it was exciting, I was going to Mars and as a geologist I couldn’t wait to encounter the rock types, to examine the earth (so to speak) of Mars.

The train was slowly but surely approaching its first stop, Earth Moon Station. As the train travelled to every moon in the Milky Way as well as every planet it was important that each station had an identifier not just being called Moon Station, after all that could cause much confusion for travellers. Out the window I could catch a glimpse of the sun, of course the train windows were heavily reinforced so as to protect the eyes of passengers from too much damage (after all it is hard to resist staring at the giant ball of fire).

I’m going to be on this train for a very long time; I can’t help but wonder how my family back on Earth must feel what with me leaving them so suddenly- I’ll never get to see them again. The stars are different up here in space, travelling the moon dust tracks; they are both further away and closer at the same time- it as if the space is fabric, they are under and above yet cannot be touched or truly observed in detail.

My eyes grow weary of the window; there is after all not much to see in space. I suppose now would be a good time to enter hibernation, slowly I setup my sleeping pod- I should awaken a day before we reach Mars Station- and then I enter the pod and let sweet slumber embrace me.

Slowly my eyes flutter open, my pod has opened, I remove myself from the pod and go to the window. It is so close now, that big red planet, I can feel the excitement brimming forth. At last my journey has reached its destination: Mars Station, oh what wonders will this planet hold for me.

Word count: 406 words

One thought on “Wednesday Prompt Smash: Train Ride to Mars

Leave a Reply

