Wednesday Prompt Smash: Angered a Gypsy

A/N: I’d like to note this may not be an accurate depiction of gypsies or their culture, I just did some very short research for this week’s topic- this is in no way meant to be disrespectful to those of the Romani culture but I am deeply sorry if it is offensive. As per usual Tim’s work is here.

Prompt: Angered a Gypsy

Word Limit: 400 words

It wasn’t hard to anger a gypsy, I soon found out when entering a Romani camp for research. Not hard to anger a gypsy at all. The first way was perhaps the easiest way, insult them, never have I seen a crowd turn on anyone so fast as the Romani did when in the middle of their camp my camera man called them “bloody gypsies.” After that debacle I’d had to spend hours apologising and promising not to bring Clyde, my cameraman, with me next time. Clyde of course had later returned to his racist ways once we were clear from the camp, which is when I finally told him “you’re fired.”

Yes it wasn’t hard to anger a gypsy which is why I was very selective with hiring my next cameraman; I could not afford another debacle like with Clyde. Of course I hadn’t realised there were so many other ways to anger a gypsy than straight verbal insults. For instance you could accidentally step on a cloth they had dropped and then pick it up to give back to them, that was a no-no. Gypsy society believes that the top half of one’s body is pure and the bottom half (mainly feet and genitals) are contaminated,.

As per this information you can probably understand that the three second rule is not a thing for the Romani. This seemed to escape my new cameraman, Micah, who continuously went to pick things up from the ground which always got us an odd gasp and horrified face.

Of course the gypsy people are fascinating and amazing; they have a strong family bond and well preserved traditions. I tried my very best to not be exiled from their camp, to be allowed to continue my journalistic documentary. Unfortunately my fascination became my downfall.

Remember how I mentioned the lower half of the body being impure and that strong familial bond that gypsies had? Well turns out all the respect I had for all of that just flew out the window when I met Onas. Onas was a strong metal worker, he was also Romani and a part of the camp I was documenting. He was breathtaking and led me to learn very quickly that infidelity does not go down well with gypsies, yes all for one man I risked it and angered a gypsy.

Needless to say I never saw Onas again and was never allowed back to the Romani camp, my documentary failed.

Words: 412 words

Leave a Reply

