Wednesday Prompt Smash: Falling

A/N: I’m kind of in love with this week’s piece, it’s probably not everyone’s cup of tea but I’m just profoundly proud of this piece of prose- it reminds me of when I used to write poetry and just the visuals. I’ve probably talked it up too much now, so it might be a little bit of a let down but I do love it. Don’t forget to check out Tim over on Flights of Fantasy.

Prompt: Falling

Word Limit: 300 words

There’s something inherently peaceful in her facial features, something that says “this is it I’ve reached my goal, now nothing matters”. Even with scarlet tears streaming down her cheeks, even with the soft purple tinge to her lips, she looks peaceful.

There’s still a soft light to her eyes, a little spark that burns brighter the closer it is to going out. In this moment she is the most serene, the most beautiful woman in the world.

In this moment she is an angel, halo of light and wings of white silk. Her hair blows softly and gently caresses her face, her skin the closest to white it has ever been.

I am trying to scream, but the air has been sucked from my lungs and no noise leaves my throat. My limbs want to flail but I’m scared to move them and instead will my body to hold form. “Why is this happening? I’m not done living yet!” I scream in my mind.

Stretching, the only movement I will allow is for my hand to reach out, “save me” that’s what my hand is saying, “please, lord, save me.” My silent pleas fall on death ears, my tan skin feels blue.

I’m scared, so scared, my eyes bleed and tears mix into the blood. Slowly my vision blurs, I can only just make out my fingers which still stretch and plea for saving. Is this truly how it is all going to end for me?

He watches her fall from his position on the ground, a flurry of hair and white fabric plummeting to the earth from on high. She is not moving, it is a corpse he thinks “that one is already dead”.

“WHAM!” The body crashes into the ground a short distance from him. His eyes ignore the fallen body, caught just slightly on the trace of a city in the sky, trained on a silhouette in the clouds.

Word count: 324 words

 

Leave a Reply

