Wednesday Prompt Smash: Acting like Garfield on a Monday morning

A/N: Sorry this is late, meant to write this yesterday but the day got away from me. As always be sure to check out Tim’s stuff on Flights of Fantasy.

Prompt: Acting like Garfield on a Monday

Word Limit: 350 words

*BEEP, BEEP, BEEP* The alarm is unrelenting in its bombardment of my ears, slowly I slide my arm from under the covers and swat at it until finally all is peaceful once more. I snuggle deeper into my covers until I hear incessant sounds much like words.

“Wake up, you’re going to be late!” slowly the noises become clearer to hear and seem to draw nearer to me.

“nngh, 10 more minutes.”

“Your alarm went off half an hour ago, why are you still in bed? Get up!” I grumble at the noise and pull my covers tighter. Then suddenly I am moving, my covers and me are being rolled, slowly I fall from my bed and land on the floor- the impact rousing me somewhat.

I rub the sleep from my eyes to view my mother glowering at me, I decided this isn’t for me and attempt to go back to sleep on the floor. Of course mother has other plans and quickly grabs my arm.

“We’re going now, you can’t be late.”

“nnooo, mother please. I just want to sleep.”

“No, we’re going.”

“But its such an absurd hour to be up, at least let me eat something before we go.”

“Fine.”

Mother drags me into the kitchen and glares at me. Slowly I move towards the kettle and put it on, I carry out each step slowly as my body and mind still want to be asleep. I make a coffee and then I go to make a bowl of cereal. Mother’s eyes are seething with rage and the slow pace I am working at.

Cereal complete I sit down and slowly rotate between drinking my coffee and eating my cereal, all the while yawning and eyelids fluttering as if to protest being awake.

“Ugh, hurry up. Stop acting like Garfield on a Monday morning and hurry up, we’re going to be late.”

“But mum, I don’t want to go.”

She storms over to me and grabs my arm yanking me up.

“That’s it we’re going, now.”

“But breakfast.”

“We’re going, NOW.”

She pulls me away from my food and out of the house toward the car, oh woe to be so far from my bedsheets.

Word count: 369 words

Leave a Reply

