Wuthering Haworth

Dear readers,

So as I mentioned on my earlier post my plans for today were to go to the Bronte Parsonage Museum and Saltaire, which is exactly what I did.

The Bronte Parsonage Museum was great, its the historical home of the Bronte family and there’s lots of wonderful artefacts that have been regathered and put on display there by the Bronte Society. Of course you need to read all the info boards to really appreciate what’s on display, for example all the artwork is either done by one of the Bronte children or is of one of them- and let me tell you the Bronte family were good at art.

It was especially great that I visited when I did because the Bronte Parsonage Museum had a special exhibit on Charlotte Bronte celebrating her 200th anniversary, some of the exhibit included articles of Charlotte Bronte’s clothing- she had extremely small hands and feet, but long slender fingers as could be realised when looking at her gloves and stockings. Was really great to see it all and find out some facts I never knew about the Bronte family.

After visiting the Bronte museum we were off for Saltaire to see Salts Mill. The Salt Mill was impressive to say the least and I quite enjoyed having lunch at the Salt Diner (truly delicious coffee milkshake and chips).  There’s a lot of David Hockney art on display there, in fact every floor is decorated with paintings of his. And there are a lot of shops to browse around there.

All in all it was a successful outing. Now I’m off to eat dinner.

Regards,

Sasha.

Leave a Reply

