Saturday Word of the Day: Sociolect

*Sociolect: a variety of a language used by a particular social group; a social dialect

“Dr Isano, it’s a pleasure to have you on board.”

“Thank you General, I look forward to working with you and your team here.”

“Dr Isano, your file says you speak Ragonik?”

“Yes.”

“We were wondering if you might be able to help us out then, you see we’ve captured some Ragonik spies but they don’t speak a single human language.”

“I’d be happy to try listening in to their conversations for you, General.”

“Thank you, doctor.”

Xxx

“So what are they saying doc?”

“It’s hard, I’m fluent in common Ragonik but these spies seem to be speaking in a form of sociolect.”

“What’s that mean doc?”

“Well I can understand some of their conversation… but there’s certain words and nuances in their pronunciation making it hard to be certain what exactly they’re discussing. From what I can understand it isn’t anything harmful, but these sociolect specific words could mean anything.”

Xxx

“Something bothering you, Dr Isano?”

“Oh, General I didn’t see you come in… it’s not bothering me so much as gnawing at my mind, I just can’t help but wonder what exactly those Ragonik spies were discussing. More so I’m confused because nowhere in my research of Ragonik culture is there reference to sociolects, how could I have missed this?”

“Well Doctor I think you did a pretty good job seeing as you’ve never visited Ragonik, I mean how can one truly know the depths of a culture until they’ve been immersed in it… don’t beat yourself up over this Dr Isano.”

-END-

A/N: I’ll leave it for you to decide what the Ragonik spies were discussing and what unfolds.

 

Leave a Reply

