Saturday Word of the Day: Lotus-Eaters

A/N: Loved writing this today, always happy when the word of the day lets me play around with mythology.

*Lotus-eater: a person who leads a life of dreamy, indolent ease, indifferent to the busy world; daydreamer.

“Where am I?” It feels like my mind has just come out of a daze, but for the life of me I can’t recall anything. There are people here, all around me, but none of them answer my initial question.

“Hello, does anyone know who I am?” Again no answer, it is as if they don’t even hear me. I walk up to one of them and lightly tap their shoulder, they don’t turn around. So I walk in front of them, their eyes are glazed over.

“What is going on here?” I muse to myself as I check a few of the other strangers; they all seem to be in this strange trance like state- oblivious to the outside world.

“Would you like something to eat?” Suddenly I hear a voice from behind me. Turning slowly I see a strange woman whose skin seems to shimmer.

“Can you tell me where I am?” I step towards her slowly.

“You are here.” She smiles at me.

“But where is here?”

“The land of the lotus-eaters.” Her smile broadens and she offers me a platter of food, which seems to have appeared out of thin air.

“How did I get here?” The food on the platter looks so delicious but I hold off on taking any.

“Don’t you remember? You’ve always been here, now please eat something.” She opens her mouth and I can see sharp, glittering teeth.

“I’m not hungry, thanks. If I’ve always been here then do you know who I am?”

“Of course I do, dear. You’re someone, someone who missed their last meal, so please have something to eat.” There’s something calming about her gaze, and even though some small part of my brain says to resist… I take a piece of food from the platter and pop it into my mouth.

“That’s a good human.” I can vaguely hear the woman’s voice, but that doesn’t matter. Nothing matters now; everything is hazy but calming and sweet.

-END-

5 thoughts on “Saturday Word of the Day: Lotus-Eaters

Leave a Reply

